PC Reviews

grid2box
3/5
Review: Grid 2 (, , )
June 19, 2013 -

Because of where racing games were at the time, and what Grid did for the genre, I have a fond memory of the original title. As such I was super excited to see what Codemasters had put together for the follow-up, Grid 2. Could they reinvigorate the racing genre again? What new twists on the classic formulas would we see this time around? And most importantly where does it fit in amongst the glut of racing titles over the past few years? After playing quite a lot of Grid 2 over the past couple weeks, all those questions have been answered and sadly the answers aren’t quite as cheery as my memories of the original game.

Shades Thumb
3/5
PC Review: Might and Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness ()
May 17, 2013 -

Might and Magic Heroes V was a generally well-received title that filled a massive gap in the current pantheon of… Read More »

metroboxart
4/5
PC Review: Metro: Last Light (, , )
May 17, 2013 -

Metro: Last Light is a stunningly atmospheric game. Though it falls short in enemy AI, the overall package well worth the investment.

diriptidebox
2/5
Review: Dead Island: Riptide (, , )
May 8, 2013 -

There is a song on Metallica’s classic 1986 album, Master of Puppets, called The Thing That Should Not Be and I’ve always thought that it would work perfectly as music for a horror film or game. While tonally the music would not fit well with Techland’s Dead Island: Riptide, the sequel to their popular zombie slaying RPG, its title does kind of lay out exactly what I think of the game. Dead Island: Riptide is the thing that should not be.

sacredcitadelbox
3/5
Review: Sacred Citadel (, , )
May 7, 2013 -

Blizzard’s Diablo series is one of the most successful franchises in gaming. As with any success, everyone wants to recreate it by making something similar but putting their own twist on it. One of the more successful imitators is the Sacred series. I only mention this because while I know the Sacred series, the latest game in the series, Sacred Citadel, took me a little by surprise. So much so that I did not actually realize it was a Sacred game.

armyoftwocoverimage
2/5
PS3 Review: Army of Two: The Devil’s Cartel (, , )
April 17, 2013 -

Does this bromantic shooter live up to the past two entries in the series?

BioshockBoxart
3/5
Review: Bioshock Infinite (, , )
April 4, 2013 -

It’s a shame that the grand philosophical and narrative designs of Infinite rival those of its predecessors to the tune of its own familiar gameplay finally crashing in on itself.

SCHotSbox
4/5
PC Review: StarCraft II: Heart of the Swarm ()
April 2, 2013 -

In July of 2010, Blizzard unleashed one of the most anticipated games of the decade, StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty…. Read More »

SimCity Box
2/5
PC Review: SimCity ()
March 20, 2013 -

While the game attempts to ensnare you with its beauty and the addictive nature of expansion and upgrade, frustrating, illogical design choices combine with poor server construction to ruin any sense of immersion, forcing the player to battle the game instead of enjoying it.

PS2CoverSheet108
5/5
Review: Tomb Raider (, , )
March 19, 2013 -

Don reviews the Crystal Dynamics reboot of Tomb Raider, a thrilling action game with a dark story.